Waking Dreams

It’s late at night and I’m lying in bed trying to fall asleep, my back facing the rest of the bedroom. After a minute or so, there’s a subtle sensation in the back of my head. I feel a vague presence, then movement, as if someone is closing in on me before lightly pressing their mouth close to my ear.

“Jacob.”

The word is muttered quickly, with a clear and distinct voice which closely resembles that of my little brother. I know that my brother is upstairs. Nowadays I seldom sleep with my back facing an open space.

 

Leave a Reply

